Parish Council

Header Image

Your Parish Council is your closest tier of local government, coming under the umbrella of St. Albans City and District Council which, in turn, relies on Hertfordshire County Council.

It consists of fourteen council members, who stand for election every four years and from their number, the chair and vice chair are elected on an annual basis. The business of the council is overseen by our Parish Clerk and his assistant who manage the day to day running of parish matters and keep councillors abreast of developments and legislation.

The council is here for the benefit of its residents and maintains and develops amenities and infrastructure within the parish, the cost of which is funded through the Parish Precept. Our assets include seven recreation grounds around the parish which we enhance and maintain. We also have two Community Centres, one in Jersey Farm and the other in Marshalswick, which is where the Parish Office is housed, alongside the library. In addition we hold the lease for Jersey Farm Woodland Park and have joint responsibility with Wheathampstead for Nomansland.

Apart from our Full Council meetings, we have five sub-committees, one to look after finance, another for the community centres, a third for paths and environmental matters, the fourth for sports and recreation and one for Jersey Farm Woodland Park. In addition councillors represent the Parish on various outside bodies and on working groups for youth projects, localism and highways.